Canadian Time Zones

Canada is big country and it takes up major part especially the northern part of North America. Canada’s southern tip lines up with northern California and its northern-most regions reach the Arctic. Precisely, Canada stretches from the Pacific Ocean to the Atlantic Ocean covering six time zones. So the weather in Canada widely depends on where you are. However, in terms of total land areas Canada is the second largest; it also shares space with the United States with an array of borders including Niagara Falls and the Ambassador Bridge, crossing over the river in Detroit, Michigan. Let’s know in brief about the Canadian time zones.


As far as Canada time zones is concerned, this country uses encompasses six of the world's 24 time zones. In exact words, Canada uses mainly six times zones of the world. From east to west, they are Newfoundland Time Zone, Atlantic Time Zone, Eastern Time, Central Time Zone, Mountain Time Zone, and the Pacific Standard Time Zone. However, some of the provinces and territories of Canada uses two time zones within their borders. One can easily find out the different time zones in Canada from the map.


Pacific Time, the westernmost time zone in Canada, is eight hours behind Coordinated Universal Time during the observance of Standard Time. Moreover, it is seven hours behind during Daylight Saving Time. The easternmost time zone in Canada is Newfoundland Time, which is 4-1/2 hours ahead of Pacific Time. Talking further about Canadian time zones, most of Canada Daylight Saving Time starts at 2:00 a.m. local time or timing on the 2nd Sunday in March. However, Daylight Saving Time returns to Standard Time at 2:00 am on the 1st Sunday in November. Moreover, one hour will be ahead during Daylight Saving Time.


Considering about Day Daylight Saving Time in Newfoundland and Labrador, it starts one minute after midnight i.e.12:01 a.m. local time on the 2nd Sunday in March. Daylight Saving Time returns to Standard Time at one minute after midnight local time in 1st Sunday in November areas. The names of Canadian time zones changes along with Daylight Saving Time. Eastern Standard Time (EST) becomes Eastern Daylight Time (EDT), and so forth. Some areas of Canada that does not use Daylight Saving Time include, Fort St. John, Charlie Lake, Taylor and Dawson Creek in British Columbia, Creston in the East Kootenays, and most of Saskatchewan except Denare Beach and Creighton.

Top Stories